SQuared Bloggings

What is that smell? It's the smell of miseries and epic food.

Going Organic – Skincare for sensitive skin

OKAY. I’m 27 going on 28 and my skin is turning to an ashy desert with red patches. Oh how I regret my younger teenage years when I burnt my skin to a peking duck crisp. Let this be a warning to all the younger ladies out there (in Melbourne, Australia). SUNSCREEN. ALL. THE. TIME. Capiche?

I have never had a problem with my skin. It was a bit dry here and a bit oily there. It was only until 3 months ago when Spring kicked in and BAM! Itchy. Red. Irritable. W. T. F. Is this the start of my face beginning to look like an old man’s ball sac?

After some googling and chats about ‘nasty’ parabens with close friends, I have concluded that I may have overdone it with random products targeting oily skin. What an amateur.

I now no longer have an oily nose and am in dire need for some new products. Now is probably the best time to try something new. Organic.

The Body Shop Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser

I picked this up during my lunch break at work. I had a brain fart of a panic mode and decided I had to start using a cream cleanser straight away. No more foaming cleansers.

After a few weeks of using The Body Shop’s Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser, my face didn’t get worse. +1 brownie point. It hadn’t improved either. -1 brownie point. It’s okay. I would recommend this to those who are looking for a safe cleanser. I don’t find it effective and it doesn’t give the same clean feeling that I’m use to after using a cleanser.

Also, not to be picky (but I am), the cleanser comes in a bottle instead of a tube. Lots of upside-down shaking involved. -1 brownie point.

Body_shop_aloe_cleanser1

Body_shop_aloe_cleanser2

Sliced my finger cutting onions……..it was painful

Sukin Rosehip Oil

WARNING: Rosehip oil smells like ass. I didn’t know this until I put a couple of drops on my face. The ‘rose’ out of rosehip lead me to believe that I would smell like a garden. No. I smell like ass. -1 brownie point.

Putting that ass-ide (see what I did there, seriously I couldn’t have made it more obvious), rosehip oil naturally contains vitamins and omega oils that is good for a range of skin conditions including sensitive skin. That’s me!

I had reservations about using Sukin, I’ve tried some products before and didn’t get anything out of it. However, Sukin being the cheapest brand out of the whole shelf, I went with it. +1 brownie point.

Results after a week? Somewhat promising. Besides the ass-smell (which you get use to after a few days), I can see and feel that my skin feels a weenie bit smoother and a weenie bit less irritable. +1 brownie point. If you want to experiment with rosehip oil,this would be the first one to try. 

Sukin_rosehip_oil1

 

Kora Soothing Day & Night Cream

Advertisement: “Hey Q Ball! Do you want to be like Miranda Kerr? “

Me: “Ummmm well yes, her life looks a lot better than mine right now.”

Advertisement: “Then you should try her new organic skincare range! The moisturiser is in a tube! +1 brownie point.”

I’m sparing no expense right now when it comes to skincare. Kora is 3 times more expensive than what I normally pay but that’s the price for going organic. Seriously, at a whopping $60, I could buy a lot of food. -1 brownie point.

Thankfully this doesn’t smell like ass. +1 brownie point.

But it’s making my skin irritable. -2 brownie point. Not too sure why this is happening, could be that my skin is too dry or the consistency is too thin (i.e. not moisturizing). This is definitely going on the Q ball Not Recommended list.

kora_soothing_day_night1

kora_soothing_day_night2

It’s quite thin and absorbs well. Just a bit too well.

 

Innisfree Eco Safety Perfect Sunblock SPF50

What did I say girls? Sunscreen, sunscreen, sunscreen. “But Q, sunscreen makes me feel icky.” GOOD NEWS! There are plenty of sunscreens out there (and plenty expensive too) that feels matte after applying.

Innisfree. I loooovvvveeee Innisfree so I gave one of their sunblocks a crack and I looovvveeee it. Innisfree is a Korean all natural skincare brand which seems pretty organic to me. 

SPF50. +1 brownie point.

Flat tube packaging. +1 brownie point.

Doesn’t feel oily after applying. +1 brownie point.

Exorbitant shipping cost to Australia. -1 brownie point. Unless it is coming from the UK, shipping costs is always pricey for Aussies.

It might be small (50mL) but you don’t need much to cover your face and neck (don’t forget to cover your chest too if it’s on for show).

Innisfree_sunscreen1

Innisfree_sunscreen2

fThis is all I need to use for my big face. I apply every 4 hours or just before I go outside again.

About Q Ball

I eat a lot, create a lot of natural gas, own 3 New Era caps and have a kitten named Mittens. Also an uncontrollable impulse buyer.

2 comments on “Going Organic – Skincare for sensitive skin

  1. Merly
    January 27, 2016

    Going organic can be super expensive, try buying online to save $$.

    Like

    • Q Ball
      January 28, 2016

      Indeed it is. I have learnt my lesson. After blindly purchasing Kora, I am scouring the internet for organic products with a more reasonable price tag.

      Like

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2016 by in Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , .